#IndieDevMixTape F̶r̶i̶d̶a̶y̶ Saturday Update

So the r/IndieDev Mix Tape had a end-of-the-week update thread for the developers, and I posted and alluded to a blog post…so here it is. I’ll be going into depth about my mix tape entry and my progress so far. This includes mechanics, art, and design. If you want some more info about the concept behind the r/IndieDev Mix Tape, check out this post for a detailed overview.

I’m terrible with finding time to work on thing, so this time around I’m using some CC0 art to speed things up. CC0, or Creative Commons Zero, is work in which the owner has waived all copyrights to it. This essentially make the work public domain. You can read more about this at The Creative Commons Website. The art I used will be linked at the end of this post. But I digress.

Even though I’m using some CC0 artwork doesn’t mean that I won’t be creating anything for this game. Currently, I’m finalizing a 2D character template for the characters in my game. Using a generic template with basic animations saves time when creating characters for prototypes and jam games. So far I’ve the idle, run, and jump animation cycles finished.

s_standwalkrunjump

Almost any animation for this base can be created simply by editing the existing pixels in the standing sprite. Also the sprites can be recolored to fit your needs.

police_run

I’m thinking of releasing it as CC0 as a way of giving back for the art I took for use in this game.

In terms of mechanics, I have most of the platforming mechanics in place, have mocked up a rudimentary dialogue system which will be used for some puzzles, and brought in the point-and-click cursor mechanics from my game Transplant Cop for use in some puzzles and stuff. When I imported the cursor mechanics, I ran into an interesting problem:

wtf

But it was a simple fix, just inserting a flag to stop the cursor from spawning once it exists.

That’s my update for the moment, shout out to the other devs working on their mix tape games. Check out their updates at r/IndieDev‘s Friday Update post regarding #indiedevmixtape

You can find some CC0 game art at http://opengameart.org/

I almost forgot! Below are links to the art assets I am using in my game. If you’re the creator of anything I’m using and it isn’t CC0, please contact me so we can clear it up.


ansimuz – Mountain At Dusk Background
http://opengameart.org/content/mountain-at-dusk-background

ansimuz – Industrial Parallax Background
http://opengameart.org/content/industrial-parallax-background

etqws3 – 16×16 Square Block Variations
http://opengameart.org/content/16×16-square-block-variations

Albert Manhattan – Classical Ruin Tiles
http://opengameart.org/content/classical-ruin-tiles-0

P.S. Bonus Synthwave work music playlist

#IndieDevMixTape F̶r̶i̶d̶a̶y̶ Saturday Update

Leave a Reply

